Marijuana laws in many states aren't as strict as what they were a decade ago. In Maryland, people who possess less than 10 grams of marijuana aren't subject to any criminal penalties at all. Those cases are civil maters that are handled with a fine. If you have been caught with marijuana, it is vital that you understand the marijuana laws in this state.
What are the possible penalties for possession of small amounts of marijuana?
If you have less than 10 grams of marijuana, you face nothing more than civil vines. On the first offense, the fine is up to $100. That increases to up to $250 on a second offense. It increases again to up to $500 on subsequent offenses. People who are facing a third offense and those who aren't yet 21 years old have to be assessed for a substance abuse disorder and drug education program.
What are the possible penalties for possession of larger amounts of marijuana?
Possession of 10 grams to 50 pounds of marijuana is a misdemeanor charge. You can face up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 if you are convicted for this type of possession of marijuana.
What are the possible penalties for selling marijuana?
Selling marijuana is a felony charge. The amount of time in prison and the fine depends on the amount and whether there are prior convictions or not. At a minimum, you face five years in prison and up to a $15,000 fine.
If you are facing any marijuana charges in Maryland, make sure you know your rights. Protecting your rights is vital part of your defense strategy.
Source: FindLaw, "Maryland Marijuana Laws," accessed Dec. 11, 2015