Call now for a no-charge, no-obligation case evaluation.
410-713-4465

Penalties for drugged driving in Maryland

Just as drinking alcohol before getting behind the wheel can hinder your ability to drive, smoking marijuana may do the same. Though recreational marijuana has become legal in a number of states, Maryland is not, to date, among them, and even states that have legalized cannabis for recreational purposes have laws against driving while under the influence of it.

In Maryland, you may face specific penalties should you receive a conviction for driving under the influence of marijuana. As you might expect, the penalties associated with your conviction tend to increase in severity with each subsequent offense.

Penalties for a first drugged driving offense

The first time a court or judge convicts you of drugged driving in Maryland, you may have to serve anywhere from two months to a full year behind bars. Conversely, you may receive fines as opposed to a sentence, depending on the specifics of your situation. Fines may fall somewhere between $500 and $1,000, and you can also expect to have to complete an educational program and turn over your license for up to 45 days.

Penalties for a second drugged driving offense

If convicted again within the same five-year period, you may have to pay considerable fines that can climb as high as $2,000, or you may have to serve as much as two years in jail. Further, you can anticipate losing your license for up to 90 days and having to take part in a drug and alcohol education program.

Penalties for a third drugged driving offense

If convicted of drugged driving for a third time within the same five-year period, you may have to serve up to three years behind bars in addition to shelling out as much as $3,000 in fines. You again would have to complete a drug and alcohol education program as part of your punishment, and you may have your license revoked for up to a year and a half.

Regardless of whether it is your first, second or third drugged driving conviction, the penalties tend to increase considerably if you have a child present in your vehicle at the time of your infraction.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Get In Touch

Contact Us To Discuss Your Options

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Salisbury Office
208 Calvert Street
P.O. Box 33
Salisbury, MD 21801

Toll Free: 866-242-3785
Phone: 410-713-4465
Salisbury Law Office Map

Ocean City Office
5700 Coastal Highway
Suite 305
Ocean City, MD 21842

Map & Directions

We offer free consultations for criminal cases, And we accept multiple payment methods, including MasterCard, Visa and Discover.

Spanish-language translation services are available / Servicios del intérprete disponibles.